Main Site | Forum | Rules | Downloads | Wiki | Features | Podcast

NLSC Forum

Discussion about NBA Live 2004.
Post a reply

Shots on offensive fouls COUNT!

Sat Nov 15, 2003 9:38 am

Hey.

I noticed in 1 on 1 that when a player committed an offensive foul and made the shot, it was if the foul never happened--he got a point and took the ball back. I didn't really mind it, as I don't play 1 on 1 much.

Today, in a big playoff game, I was up 42-40. Vince Carter drives to the hoop, I take the charge as he leans over me from 10 feet, and offensive foul comes up. The ball goes in, and the announcer says his name, the score is suddenly 42-42, and they get the ball back on the side!

I'm not sure if this has happened before... Certainly never getting the ball back, but I foget if these shots have counted.

Seems like a pretty pathetic bug to me...

Sat Nov 15, 2003 10:03 am

hmmmm that definitely sucks :evil:

Sat Nov 15, 2003 10:46 am

I know in college if the ball has left the player's hands before the foul occurs the shot counts. Now the ball should have come back to you. I'm not sure if that rule applies in the NBA.

foul problems

Sat Nov 15, 2003 11:16 am

yeah, i've noticed several problems with fouls.... i've seen them call a foul on one person, and credit the foul to them, but then that same person shoots 2 free throws... the announcers often say "and he'll go to the line to shoot 2" when it was a foul on the floor, or not even any foul at all... which i guess i minor, cuz it doesn't change gameplay

Sat Nov 15, 2003 11:45 am

If the ball has left the players hands before the foul i think the shot counts, I think that is a real rule.
And also, WIzKID, was the foul when it was in the penalty(eg. 5 fouls in one quarter?

Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:28 am

Well, I understand that rule, and maybe that's what they're trying to do, but it wasn't the case on my 2 or 3 occurances.

Also, I KNOW you're not supposed to get the ball back... :roll:

Sun Nov 16, 2003 4:44 am

In NBA when a player is called for offensive foul the basket doesn't count... doesn't matter when the ball was released from his hands. That's the rule.

Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:05 am

Also, I KNOW you're not supposed to get the ball back... :roll:[/quote]

Easy man, just trying to help. :D
Post a reply